Including More Than 450 Adoptee-Recommended Titles!

The How and the Why

by Cynthia Hand

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for; they’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—but she has questions, too. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who placed her for adoption, this emotionally resonant narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.

Adoptee Author: Cynthia Hand

Publication Year: 2019


Critical Reviews:

Adoptee Reviews: 

Other Reviews: 


All Bookshop and Amazon links on this site are affiliate links. We earn a small commission to help keep Adoptee Reading running whenever items are purchased via these links, at no additional cost to you.

The How & the Why
The How & the Why
 Price not available Buy now at Amazon
Price incl. VAT., Excl. Shipping